Skip to content

A Little Crazy?

June 22, 2011

Hello all!

I am about to inherit an old washstand from my friend, Cate.  You see, Jon and I right now have a very small tv- about the size of a computer monitor.  Honestly.  He bought it shortly after moving to Florida for aviation school and at the time, it made sense, as he knew he’d be moving to another base (Norfolk) in a few months and there was no reason to get something that would make packing up more cumbersome.  However, now that we have a permanent place, it is time for a bigger tv.  I’m not much a tv person, to be honest, but he definitely is and I know he wants to have buddies over to play Call of Duty or watch the game on something that he’s actually proud of.  So while this isn’t the most important upgrade ever to me, this is something that is important to him.

Here is where the washstand comes in.  Right now, our cute little tv is perched on an antique end table, which works well now, but just won’t be very visually balanced or physically stable once we upgrade.  I mentioned to Cate that I was looking for a vintage dresser to use as a tv console and she mentioned that she had a large washstand that needed out of her house.  Perfect!

It does need some major TLC.  I haven’t seen it in person yet, just through a photo text, but already I can tell that it will be a project.  She mentioned that she had always wanted to paint it with a Union Jack, which is a cool idea, but:

A) It’s a lot of impact and I have a SMALL space

B) I’m not English, Jon’s not English.  I love the idea, but I think it’s inauthentic.

So we started brainstorming other flag possibilities and the one I am stuck on right now is the Chicago flag.  For those of you who don’t know (which I would assume is anyone not currently living in Chicago, or, my mother, who has lived there for over twenty years and just found out last year that that flag existed), this is what the flag looks like:

Credit, Wikipedia

I love the simple white and pale blue striping with the bright red six-pointed stars.  I’ve never seen it on furniture before, but I think it could translate to this boxy piece well.  It is going a little crazier than I anticipated in the front room- I thought I would want a lot of classic and neutral, which I have, but now as we add in stuff together, I’m adding in lots of quirky bits- which right now, I kind of like.  What do you think, though?  Does this push it too much?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

