Skip to content

Wall Compromises

June 2, 2011

When it comes to living and decorating a home that I share with Jon, I make all the major decisions about furniture and big things, with a few colors or fabrics  being off limits.  However, our walls are where you can see a lot of compromise in our decor.  I love that he has things up around the apartment that show his tastes and personality coexisting peacefully with mine.

Jon is one of those guys who has spent an insane amount of money on comic books and while I’m happy that the majority of them stay in long boxes on the bookshelves, I’m happy to frame some of the really wonderful vintage ones.  Also, that vintage notice about street girls is REAL!  We found it in an antique market in Virginia Beach.  I guess that’s to be expected when you live in a Navy town?

And the beer sign… here’s the thing.  I know that many, many, many guys LOVE neon beer signs.  You have NO idea how many neon beer signs I have kept out of my home.  Until we have a man cave room, they’re not allowed.  Vintage tin signs, we decided, were the appropriate compromise.  This one I can deal with… we’ll see how many of them I can allow, though.  A girl has her limits.

As much as I love making my dream apartment and finding chairs, art pieces, and redoing pieces, I really love that as we go along, our home is becoming more and more a reflection of the two of us, and not just me.  It’s a very rewarding challenge.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 7, 2011 4:07 pm

    I love that sailor sign – a great compromise to hang them and display (without them being neon beer signs…)

Leave a Reply

