Skip to content

Painted Rugs- Found!

May 30, 2011

Hello all!

I hope everyone has had a relaxing holiday weekend!  I am back to the grind tomorrow, unfortunately, as I’m spending my summer nannying while hunting for a permanent teaching job.  However, the family I nanny for is going to the beach tomorrow, so it’s hard to complain about that!

I have a new idea in the works that I would like to share.  I’ve seen several posts on Design*Sponge about painted rugs (see herehere, and here) and have been wanting to try something like this for a long, long, long time.  As it is with most things, I rarely find rugs that I like in my price range.  If it were up to me, I would have something ultra-luxe from Madeline Weinrib or Anthropologie, but those are not at all in my price range and will not be for quite a long time.  I had been thinking of buying a large, plain rug from Ikea recently, and lo and behold, today someone moved in down the street and was casting off their “extras” that didn’t make the cut in the new place.  One such item was a 7′ by 5′ rug in fabulous condition, which of course I snagged!  Right now it’s a dark forest green, which doesn’t match my bedroom decor at all.  I’m thinking of painting it using tan, grey, white, and maybe a few touches of eggplant or an ocean blue.  I won’t be pursuing this project for a few weeks, as each layer of paint on the rug takes a full day to dry.  That’s something that I have patience with, but my fiance most certainly does not, so this project will wait until he has a week long work trip in the middle of June.  Right now, I’m combing through Anthro, Urban, and Madeline Weinrib for inspiration.  I’m thinking of using these as inspiration:

*Credit, Anthropologie

*Credit, Urban Outfitters

*Credit, all four, Madeline Weinrib

All gorgeous!  Which ones do you like?

– Elizabeth

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

