Skip to content

Project: Wooden Pallet Planter

May 19, 2011

Hello all!

As promised yesterday, here is the full project on the wooden pallet planter that is now sitting on my fire escape and hosting a multitude of plants.  This project is the brainchild of my friend, Cate, who made one slightly different one for her own balcony.

1. Find a wooden pallet.  Don’t buy it from someone on Craigslist!  You can find these tossed out behind restaurants, grocery stores, in the free section of Craigslist, etc.  And trust me, once you pull one, you’ll start seeing them EVERYWHERE!

2.  Paint the wooden pallet if you like.  I think it makes it look like it should be something else, but I can see why someone might want to use the bare wood if it fit with their outdoor space aesthetic.  I chose to paint mine, alternating between a great marigold yellow color I found in the “oops section” of Lowe’s (the “oops section” is one of my favorite discoveries.  If the paint is not mixed to the customer’s liking, they place it in the “oops section” and sell it for a much lower price.  It’s a great way to experiment with colors you might not have ordinarily considered.) and white paint.

3.  Begin making “bags” to hang the plants in.  This is the method I chose; Cate used an alternative method with landscaping cloth.  I bought a large white shower curtain on the cheap from Wal Mart and cut the fabric to fit the smaller sections of the pallet.  I then stapled the fabric in, creating a bag shape so that no soil or water would fall through.  This took a bit, and I haven’t gotten it even, but it still looks nice, especially since the white bags work with the paint I chose to use.

4.  Transplant your plants or plant something!  I transplanted my basil, tarragon, and cilantro.  The tarragon seemed like it was on the verge of dying for about a day- they have delicate, shallow roots- but they pulled it together and now everything seems to be existing peacefully.  I went ahead and labeled all of the sections with plants, as I just planted some fresh seeds for peas and mesclun.  Here’s a picture of the in-process pallet garden below!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

