Skip to content

My Favorite Things Series: Home Lettering

April 22, 2011

Hello!

I love decorating my home and while I am constantly looking for things to add to it, I worry about becoming more materialistic and losing sight of all the things that already make my house a home.  I’ve decided to start doing a weekly series of things that I have/have had for quite some time that I love and do not feel like my home would be complete without.

The first object I want to feature is my “HOME” signage.  My parents have a lake home up in rural Michigan and growing up, I would always tag along with my mother, grandmother, and aunts when they would visit all of the quirky shops and antique stores.  On one of these trips, we found a large collection of hangable letters covered in a brass colored glitter.  At the time, I was just about leave for college and we thought it would be a great idea to get some letters spelling out “HOME”.  They’ve traveled with me throughout my various homes, from freshman and sophomore dormitories, to my house with girlfriends, to my now home with Jon.  One of the first things that I did when I moved into my apartment in Norfolk was put these up the letters over my front door.  The sunlight has tarnished them a little bit, but they still sparkle and make me happy every time I walk in the door.

What are some things in your home that you love?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

